Be Careful What You Wish For: The Clifton Chronicles 4 by Jeffrey Archer

Be Careful What You Wish For: The Clifton Chronicles 4

By Jeffrey Archer

  • Release Date: 2014-03-01
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Score: 4.5
From 169 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA


The fourth book in the internationally bestselling Clifton Chronicles from master storyteller Jeffrey Archer

"One of the top ten storytellers in the world." Los Angeles Times

Be Careful What You Wish For opens with Harry Clifton and his wife Emma rushing to hospital to learn the fate of their son Sebastian, who has been involved in a fatal car accident. But who died, Sebastian or his best friend Bruno?

When Ross Buchanan is forced to resign as chairman of the Barrington Shipping Company, Emma Clifton wants to replace him. But Don Pedro Martinez intends to install his puppet, the egregious Major Alex Fisher, in order to destroy the Barrington family firm just as the company plans to build its new luxury liner, the MV Buckingham.

Back in London, Harry and Emma's adopted daughter wins a scholarship to the Slade Academy of Art where she falls in love with a fellow student, Clive Bingham, who asks her to marry him. Both families are delighted until Priscilla Bingham, Jessica's future mother-in-law, has a visit from an old friend, Lady Virginia Fenwick, who drops her particular brand of poison into the wedding chalice.

Then, without warning, Cedric Hardcastle, a bluff Yorkshireman who no one has come across before, takes his place on the board of Barringtons. This causes an upheaval that none of them could have anticipated, and will change the lives of every member of the Clifton and Barrington families. Hardcastle's first decision is who to support to become the next chairman of the board: Emma Clifton or Major Alex Fisher? And with that decision, the story takes yet another twist that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Be Careful What You Wish For showcases the master storyteller's talent as never before - when the Clifton and Barrington families march forward into the sixties, in this epic tale of love, revenge, ambition and betrayal.

BOOK 1: Only Time Will Tell
BOOK 2: The Sins of the Father
BOOK 3: Best Kept Secret
BOOK 4: Be Careful What You Wish For
BOOK 5: Mightier Than The Sword
BOOK 6: Cometh The Hour


  • LionKing

    By Lord Phil.
    Another great book taking up every spare minute of my time. Keep them coming JA.
  • Great read - Be Careful what you ask for

    By KAngawallafox
    Some complain about the ending being open, but none can question the way the story pulls you in. Did not want to put it down.... This one I would recommend... But the next book better have a true ending.
  • Disappointing!!

    By Tgo22
    The latest in The Clifton Chronicles is a fairly ordinary story, the interesting personal relationships that we can expect from Archer are missing . Characters aren't developed and story line is thin , far more intrigue, effort and credibility will have to be injected if I am to read the proposed 7 (??) of the series !!
  • The Clifton Chronicles

    By Regshi
    Would have given these four books a 5 star If they had of been finished, I paid for the four available to download and was so annoyed after getting to the end of book 4 to find out the next one with an ending (maybe) would be written in 2015, so up in the air when finished reading them. I think you should warn everybody. Sorry mr. Archer you have lost me as a fan.